MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT HELD: May 23, 1979

THE STATE OF TEXAS

FRANKLIN COUNTY WATER DISTRICT

PRESIDENT

SECRETARY

DIRECTOR

DIRECTOR

VICE PRESIDENT

COUNTY OF FRANKLIN

ON THIS the 23rd day of May, 1979, the Board of Directors of the Franklin County Water District convened in CALLED session at their office located at 114 North Houston Street on the East side of the square in Mount Vernon, Texas, with the following members present:

LANDON RAMSAY
BILLY JORDAN
JEARL COOPER
E. L. SEAY
ENNIS CHRISTENBERRY

and with the following members absent: NONE.

Also present were Lake Superintendent Horris Morris, County Judge Bill Meek, Sheriff Don Qualls, and Office Manager Shirley Maples.

The President of the Board called the Meeting to order, declared a quorum present, and that the meeting was duly convened and ready to transact business.

NOTICE of this Meeting was given, stating the time, place, and purpose, all as required by Vernon's Ann. Civ. Statutes, Article 6252-17.

The Board visited at length with Judge Meek in regard to problems encountered in the District's attempt to hire new law enforcement help for the lake. The Board requested that Sheriff Don Qualls meet with them. As soon as Sheriff Qualls arrived, the Board outlined its problems to him; whereupon, MOTION was made by Ennis Christenberry, and SECONDED by E. L. Seay, to enter into an agreement with Sheriff Qualls as follows: If the Sheriff will deputize the District's peace officers' the District will assume full responsibility for said officers' actions and further, the District will have said officers bonded in the amount of \$50,000.00. The President put the question and, after full discussion and deliberation thereon all members present voted "AYE". NONE voted "NO".

The Board convened in an executive session after which no action was taken.

There being no further business, the Meeting was adjourned.

MINUTES APPROVED this the 4th day of June, 1979.

Landon Ramsay, President Billy Jordan, Vice President Jearl Cooper, Secretary E. L. Seay, Director Ennis Christenberry, Director